After having fi…

March 9, 2012

After having finished the Hunger Games Trilogy, I thought I should bite my teeth into something more substantial for my next read. My roommate, a liberal Floridian who bravely drives around “Southern” Florida with an “OBAMA” bumper sticker, suggested I take a look at the Audacity of Hope by our current President. There are lots of great gems in his autobiography, and I’m confident his writings will rise to the ranks of literary greatness such as Fredrick Douglass and W.E.B. Dubois (my favorite Reconstructionist authors). I have already posted an excerpt which has caused me to think deeply about my life and has subtly changed who I am this year, 2012, and I’m sure there are more to come as I approach Audacity’s last pages. However, one thing I wish to mention now about Obama’s life is that he had received a lot of help to get to where he is now. I don’t know why, but I sometimes think that Obama won the 2008 election all by himself. With just his speech, his singing, and his dancing. I sometimes find myself idolizing Obama. The coolest President of the United States of America (with Clinton as a close second). But he almost didn’t get to the White House, not without the support of others. This is all obvious, duh. This is just me, inspired by what Obama wrote in 2006, and learning that even great men need the support of others. No man can be great alone. I’ll just leave this post at that. 

Leave a Reply

